Succotosh

6 Nov

Growing up in Finland I never ate corn or lima beans. I had a rough wake up call getting married to a Southern boy. Talk about food wars! In South, the vegetables generally are cooked  until they are “dead”.  I have had to learn to make Southern dishes that are healthier and not seasoned with pound of butter or bacon. Here is my twist to Succotosh. Sometimes I add halved cherry tomatoes to it in the very end.

  • 1 onion chopped
  • 14 oz bag of frozen lima beans thawed or shelled edamame (I love this version)
  • 14 oz bag of frozen corn thawed
  • 1/2 cup white wine or vegetable broth
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes

Sauté the onion well with olive oil in a large skillet. Add the corn and lima beans and continue to sauté for few minutes. Add the white wine and seasonings and simmer until wine has cooked down. I have served this with scallops and with salmon.

Leave a Reply

