Cucumber and crab salad

11 Nov

I have eaten cucumber salads made by the Finns, the Southerners, and the Japanese. I have to say that I love the Japanese version (Sunomono) the best. This is my version of it. I made it last weekend for my friend’s “Girls Night” and got good reviews from my new friends.

  • 2 cucumbers
  • 8 oz imitation crab meat or boiled shrimp cut up in small pieces
  • 1/3 cup Mirin (seasoned rice vinegar)

Peel the cucumbers and cut them half length wise. Scoop the seeds out with a spoon. Slice the cucumbers in thin slices.

Mix the cucumbers, Mirin and the crab, (you can also use  shrimp or combination of the two of them). Refrigerate the salad for at least an hour.

I can make a meal from this salad, edamame (cooked soy beans), and a good glass of wine very easily.

Leave a Reply

