Citrus Scallops

5 Apr

We love scallops. I think my husband could eat them every other day if I would fix them. I love oranges and living in Florida I should dedicate this recipe to our beautiful state. With our early spring, it is perfect here right now, however,  you might hear me complain about the heat in few more months. But tonight, I will enjoy the weather on my patio and toast my wine to Citrus Scallops and Florida oranges.

  • 1 pound of sea scallops (the large ones)
  • 1 tsp orange zest
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1 tsp grated ginger
  • 2 tbs low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 garlic clove minced

Pat dry the scallops with paper towel and place them in shallow bowl or in a ziplock bag. Mix rest of the ingredients together and pour the mixture over the scallops. Marinate in the refrigerate for 30 minutes. Let the scallops sit in room temperature for 1o minutes. Coat a skillet with olive oil and heat on medium high heat. Reserve the marinade. Cook the scallops 2 minutes on each side. Place the scallops on a warm plates. Heat the marinade in the same pan and reduce it down to half, drizzle over the scallops. I served the scallops with whole wheat couscous and with garlic asparagus. Asparagus recipe is from my fellow blogger  (mythineats).

Leave a Reply

