Drunken Burgers

23 Aug

Napa Valley is known for great chefs and talented wine makers. What do you get when you get both in one? You get idea for burgers made with red wine! First time we met wine maker, Chris Phelps he was making fabulous brick oven pizzas at a party. I do not eat pizza, EVER! However, that night I ate my share without any regrets. When we met with Chris again the other day, he gave me an idea for burgers made with red wine. I could not wait to test them on my hubby, and he loved them. They were very moist and delicious.They are  on the list to cook again soon for a party soon. I know I will get in trouble, if my husband hears that I used some of the wonderful wine Chris made, but I thought it would be only appropriate since he gave me the idea for the burgers.

  • 1 pound of lean grass fed ground beef
  • red wine (at least 2 cups)
  • red onion, roughly chopped
  • 2 tsp steak seasoning

Mix all the ingredients together. Use enough wine that the mix is loose but firm enough to form into patties. Let the patties brine in the fridge for at least 2 hrs. Grill on medium high grill until to your desire. I served the burgers with mushrooms sautéed with garlic and olive oil.

Leave a Reply

