Avocado and Mango Salad

27 Jun

I have now finished two nutrition courses, and I have learned a lot. One thing that surprised me is how little we really need protein.  Most people eat too much of it. I had no idea how much protein I typically eat, even though I consume only seafood. I am trying to eat more vegeterian meals once a day  and I am loving it. I made this salad for lunch and it was refreshing on a hot day after a bike ride in 90 degree weather.

Salad Ingredients:

  • mixed greens
  • 1 ripe mango,  chopped or sliced
  • 1 small avocado, sliced
  • 1 tbs slivered almonds

Dressing:

  • 1/3 cup rice vinegar
  • 1 tbs mirin (seasoned rice vinegar)
  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • 2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 2 tbs orange juice
  • 1 tsp chopped green onion

Whisk the dressing ingredients together. Toss the greens and place them on plate. Top with the avocado, mango and almonds.

IMG_2509

IMG_2511

Leave a Reply

